Exercising in 2017

I’ve always been one to avoid exercising or to repeatedly stop and start it. I just have always found it incredibly boring and mindless. After consistently reading about its importance, not just for physical health, but also for mental health, I finally have the motivation I need after seeing the weight I’ve put on over the last couple of years. For the first time in my life, I’m just over the line into the “overweight” category.

After making some weight loss and weight lifting goals, I downloaded a couple of apps to help in my journey into better health. My favorite is by far the FitBit app, which works with your iPhone. I’m feeling more motivated than ever because I see it as a challenge and a sport to win. How much water did I drink? Did I stay under my calorie goal? Did I hit 4 miles of walking? Where does that put me on the virtual hiking challenge and what treasures did I collect?

It’s actually been a lot of fun and it makes me feel better about myself and my health. I also downloaded a push-up challenge app (100 push-ups after 30 days) and one for jump-roping, which I’ve always enjoyed. Turns out it terrifies the puppy, though. lol

The dog helps out with the walking goals and makes it fun when we can find a field to run and chase her on. I’m even tracking my sleep with the Sleep Cycle app to make sure I’m getting good sleep. 

I had a really good workout last night and hit most of my daily goals. I was informed yesterday afternoon that I’d be getting a spanking in the evening. 

We finally got home from working out around 8 and I was exhausted. My wife suggested maybe an easy spanking since I was so tired. She quickly corrected herself with, “well, let’s be honest, it’s always hard.” lol… So she told me she wanted to just relax and reschedule for Friday night. She’s out of town tonight, so it’s a night in, minus a long walk, with the dogger. 

2017 is off to a good start, and I’m looking forward to the growth in my physical health and in the health of our relationship.

Leave a Reply

